Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
c_gump

Clueless Newbie with beginners luck- now what?!

C_Gump
13 years ago

Hi,

I am a complete Newbie, and I apologize in advance for the many questions I am sure to have, but any help is greatly appreciated!

I decided this winter to try to create an indoor herb garden in the S/W facing windows of my apartment. About 5 weeks ago (?) I planted the following into individual 4" pots:

- 2 pots of sweet basil (5-8 seeds in each)

- 2 pots of parsley (sprinkle of seeds, maybe 15 each?)

- 2 pots of chives (maybe 10 seeds each?)

I expected only a few of each seed to take, and to struggle to keep those alive. On the contrary, it appears that absolutely every seed I planted sprouted and is growing! But now I'm not sure what the next steps are to keep them that way. I have a collection of 12" deep by 8" across pots that I had planned to use as the "final" pots for each plant, but I'm not sure how to get there.

I have read that I need to pinch back the plants to promote bushy growth instead of tall, spindly growth. How and when should I do this? I also read that I should pinch back all but the strongest seedling. Is this true?

Currently the basil pots each have about 8 seedlings each, around 4" tall. About half of these have begun a second set larger leaves. Is it possible, instead of killing the other healthy seedlings, to separate them into their own individual final pots when re-potting? What if I pinch back to 2-3 healthy plants per pot and allow them to grow together before seperating into new pots? How large should they be before I re-pot them, and when should I pinch the top to promote more growth?