Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aling_gw

stupid questions about starting herbs from seed

aling
15 years ago

I am pretty new to gardening and am trying to expand and explore this wonderful new hobby of mine, but need some advice...

I am starting some vegetables and herbs from seed (indoors) and need some clarification on spacing. Due to the herb seeds being EXTREMELY TINY, I sowed them a little too thick in the peat pellet (Oregano especially). I now have TONS of super tiny little oregano sprouts growing in one tiny little cell, Does it really just take one of these to make a big bushy plant? and what about chives??? the packet says to thin to one plant every 6 inches... I don't want ONE chive, I want a lot of them together... do they multiply underground or something? I thought they were sown heavily... like grass seed?????

I know that these questions probably sound really stupid to most of you, but I guess I just have these pictures of herb gardens in my head and these seed packets don't justify them for me. Can you grow many different herbs in one container like in my pictures?

If you tell me that I really truly only need one teeny tiny seed for each herb (chives, cilantro, basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme, dill and parsley) to make big bushy plants I will believe you, I just need some reassurance I guess...

Thanks for your help (and for not laughing),

A.Ling

Comments (14)

• jaltman
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago