Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pedalpusher_gw

Please help with most useful herb tips!

pedalpusher
18 years ago

In a month or so I'm planning on giving a presentation on herbs. I have some basic knowledge but thought it would be nice if I could pass along some useful tips or info that actual herb lovers would share with us newbies. Your help would greatly be appreciated.

Comments (13)

• Heathen1
    18 years ago

You might have to be more specific on what you want... tips on USING herbs or tips on GROWING herbs?

• pedalpusher
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I hope to talk some on both growing and then at the end of the presentation I'd like to talk about using the herbs. So any tips would be very useful. I'm having a hard time deciding what people would like to hear about since they left if pretty open as far as the topic. They didn't specify that they only wanted to hear about growing them or just using them. Any direction anyone would have would be of great help.

• jlgreg
    18 years ago

I've been trying to do herbs the last few years and as a novice I've learned somethings the hard way:

1. some herbs are invasive and will spread quickly and take over your yard if you plant them in a bed instead of a pot ex.: mints
    2. some herbs are self-sowing and will take over too ex.: dill
    3. hardiness zones are no joke ie. if you live in zone 6 and the herb is only hardy to 7, it will die
    4. pay attention to mature height information, or you'll end up with tall border plantings blocking shorter interior plantings
    5. food dehydrators are your friend
    6. overwintering herbs indoors is hard if your house is dry
    7. most herbs seem to like soil that drains well and plenty of sunlight
    8. some herbs do really well from seed and shouldn't be planted all at once: dill, parsley, cilantro
    9. some herbs do better from transplants or propagation: rosemary, oregano

Give me some time, I'll think of some other things I've done wrong....

Jean