Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weedlady_gw

Little Herb kits

weedlady
13 years ago

All of us herb gardeners have seen those cute little herb kits with miniature pots for sale in home improvement, discount, hobby stores, etc.

I have been growing many different herbs for over 40 years. I find it impossible to believe that the herbs included in these kits -- mostly Mediterranean herbs that require a minimum of 6 hours of full sun in open ground -- will look anything like the photo and provide "easy, year-round access to sweet basil and other fresh herbs," especially if put into a (probably screened) kitchen window and more especially in winter!!

The basil, parsley, & chives in my outdoor summer garden grow from 24"-36" high, dill is even taller. I have seen kits showing multiple basil plants in a single pot. Basil needs at least 12"-15" between plants to do well. Parsley should have at least 6-8" or more between plants and has a pretty deep tap root. Yet the pictures often show multiple plants of basil & parsley growing in little pots or strawberry jar pockets. One such pot had mint in it. Anyone who has grown mint knows how it could take over the jar!

Another kit supplied Parsley, Thyme, Cilantro/Coriander, Lemon Basil, Dill, Oregano, Sweet Marjoram, Chives, Savory, Garlic Chives, Mustard, and Sage and boasted, "Start a herb garden in your own kitchen. Our indoor culinary herb garden kit is designed to help you start herbs in your own kitchen or windowsill with a neat little 12" x 12" x 5" greenhouse. This herb greenhouse provides the perfect climate for fast herb propagation and growth. In just a few weeks you will have herb plants."

It takes a few weeks just to get parsley to germinate!! And few, if any, of the herbs listed would be at all happy to continue living in a peat pellet once they were more than a few inches tall!