Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maroongolf

Questions from a newbie

maroongolf
13 years ago

Hi, I am very new to gardening and I just decided to start some herbs from seeds. I have been trying to read as much as I can about seed sowing, but I have a few questions. First of all, I planted some Basil and Cilantro seeds last week. They seem to be doing well as I am starting to see a few of the basil plants coming through. I used one of the Jiffy greenhouse kits from Lowes. Like I said I have never done this. After reading some of the posts here, I have read that cilantro doesn't transplant well. That being said, what do I do with them once they are ready? Can I keep them indoors? Also, this goes for both the cilantro and Basil, can I bring them indoors when it gets cold out and keep them alive over the winter? thanks

Comments (5)

• Daisyduckworth
    13 years ago

I know Cilantro as Coriander. Both basil and coriander are annuals, and when their life-span is over, they die. Simple as that.

Coriander's life-span is particularly short. In a hot climate, it can go from seed to seed in as little time as 2 weeks, which is why most people recommend sowing just a few seeds where you want the plants to be, and sow successive crops ever 2-3 weeks for a continuous supply. In a cooler climate, they will last a bit longer, but are still short-lived plants.

You MIGHT be able to exend the life of your basil plants a little by taking them indoors and providing the perfect 'Mediterranean' conditions for them - but they'll die soon enough come winter.

• fatamorgana2121
    13 years ago

Here in the North, cilantro does take a bit longer longer to mature and bolt. And it takes most of my growing season to go from planted seed to mature plants that you can harvest coriander seed from. But even so, I too would need multiple plantings if I'm looking to harvest the leaf. I agree completely with Daisy, direct sow your seed into your outdoor garden and plan for multiple plantings.