Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
In need of more cilantro guidance

Posted by NinjaTarzan none (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 27, 13 at 18:53

Here's my poor cilantro sprouts. They were doing fine until a couple of days ago. I have them in this seed starter which I keep inside at night, and outside in sunlight for most of the day. We had a cold spell of a few days, and I'm wondering if that's not my culprit.

However, I am a newbie to this, and so far have been found to have a brown thumb. :(

Help please?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: In need of more cilantro guidance

They look completely dried out. Have you been watering them thoroughly? They are in peat pots which absorb a lot of moisture.

o

Way too dry. I personally hate peat pots. Been given lots of them over the years and hated using them each time.

If started and kept outside the entire time, the odd cold period (so long as it isn't something like single digits F) shouldn't effect cilantro. It is pretty cold tolerant.

Since cilantro **HATES** to be transplanted, direct sow into your garden beds or get a larger pot that the seedlings can grow into and stay in for the duration.

FataMorgana

o

Awesome, thanks for the replies. I was worried I had been giving them too much water, but apparently not! I'll try keeping them wetter.

o

You need to post your zone as members can be of more help. Why are you starting them inside this time of the year? Or are you putting them outside?

o

You could check out the nice write-up on cilantro at the website below. Click on "Techniques", then on "Cilantro." Generally speaking, I would wait until the plants can germinate outside, then sow directly into the garden. They germinate over a period of three to four weeks, so keep them moist the whole time. Usually two seedlings grow from each seed, like beets, so you should thin to the strongest one as they begin to compete with each other.

Here is a link that might be useful: Alan Chadwick

o