Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clueless_in_alabama

How to keep herb garden from washing away

Hi all!

I'm new to this whole gardening thing. ;-) Just planted my first little herb garden in a small sunny spot of my back yard (small plants, not from seed). But hardly had I finished with a great sense of accomplishment than the thought came to me: if we get one of those heavy Spring rains like we always do here in Alabama, this whole thing is going to wash away.

I've got a 3-inch high fiber-edging material around it but that's not enough when we get our heavy rains. Wondering if anyone has suggestions for some kind of tent/covering for when the rains come.

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• Daisyduckworth
    14 years ago

Your spring rains can't be any worse than the monsoonal downpours we've been having here in the subtropics in the first decent Wet Season in 10 years!

Baby plants haven't yet developed a deep or strong enough root system to withstand flooding, but mature plants have no problem. However, you want the water to drain away, and leave behind the soil, don't you?

The answer is mulching. I use sugar-cane mulch because it's cheap and readily available where I live, but any mulch will do. I think straw is best, but you can use DEAD lawn clippings or dead leaves. You can even use stones/gravel but that makes it difficult when you want to do some digging. You can also use newspaper or old wool carpet, neither of which is attractive, but you can always cover it with straw or leaves etc. If it's natural and organic (once living) it will eventually break down.

I put the straw on at least 30cm (1ft) deep. When it rains, that will tamp it down to about half that. It will break down eventually, which helps to improve the soil. I top mine up at least once a year.