Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladylotus_gw

What to do with Turmeric?

ladylotus
11 years ago

What recipes or food do you use the herb turmeric? I am just getting into cooking with herbs and want to find as manyuses for this herb as possible.

Thank you.

Comments (12)

• DTLHerbs
    11 years ago

I use it in stir fry, I also add it to chili, and any spicy food I cook.

We are going to try to grow it this year, just to see what happens.

• ladylotus
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I wanted to do the same thing. However, I started researching how to grow the plant and where to obtain it. I found that after planting...It is harvested after 9 to 10 months of growing. In my zone I would have to plant it in a pot and grow it indoors. I have way too many tropicals that I am already growing so I decided not right now.

I know someone going to school to be a doctor who is doing research on cancer. They found 100% of the mice that were given tumeric were cancer free, even when injected with cancer.

Therefore, I thought it would not hurt to start cooking with this herb. Interestingly, I have never used it in my cooking at all.

• fatamorgana2121
    11 years ago

It is used in many Asian dishes for both color and flavor. Just google "turmeric recipes" to get many ideas.

DTL - It does grow into a beautiful plant. I bring it in for the winter where it goes dormant until it gets warm and sunny again.

FataMorgana

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

I use the spice in all kinds of foods...omelets, rice and bean recipes, veggie and chicken inventions, roasted or grilled pork dishes, lentil soup, etc. Mind you, I'm talking about the colorful and fragrant spice....which is what is used for the flavor, as well as health benefits. I just reordered more from Penzey 's! The spice is a product of the roots (rhizomes) .

I've never used or seen any recipe calling for the use of the leaves. F, I've read that the leaves are very bitter. How do you use tumeric leaves?