Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ditnc

Have you grown parsely from seed?

ditnc
13 years ago

My other plants germinated well with a heating mat, but the parsley has yet to pop through. The packet says 14 - 21 days to germinate, and it has been 14. My veggies germinate far sooner than the "days to germinate" date on the packet.

Does parsley really take 3 weeks to germinate? I started another batch "just in case" but I am wondering if I am doing something wrong. This is my first time trying to start it indoors from seed.

TIA!

Comments (17)

• herbalbetty
    13 years ago

Parsley has to go to the devil and back 7 times before it germinates! It does take a long time, be patient. Some people will do tricks like soaking parsley seed before sowing it or nicking the seed. But, if you realize it takes some time, you won't have to do anything extra. Good luck!!

• coloradogrower33
    13 years ago

I've germinated parsley seeds just fine with no soaking or anything. They took about 2 weeks to come up, but some came up a month ago ago, and I planted them in December! So just be patient.:) They'll come up when they want to.

• fatamorgana2121
    13 years ago

I direct sow parsley and about the time I'm thinking that the seed is dud seed and I'm planning on what to replant in that area, there it is sprouting. So be patient!

FataMorgana

• ditnc
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks everyone! Your replies were very helpful. I will practice patience :)

• MGPinSavannah
    13 years ago

I'm lucky enough that I'll get little parsley "volunteers," but they do show up much later in the spring than just about anything else, which may speak to how long it takes the seed to germinate. Hang in there � you'll have parsley!

• seysonn
    13 years ago

Direct sowing works fine but it would take a while.
    Although parsley is a cool weather loving plant, its seeds will need some warm soil to germinate, but not like basils.