Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tishtoshnm

Lemongrass and Lemon Verbena

I placed my pots of lemongrass and lemon verbena in the (insulated) garage over the winter in the hopes of getting them to come alive again this spring. My average last frost is May 15th. At what point should I begin watering them and when should they be safe outside. I can water and bring out during the day and scooch back into the garage at night as well. Obviously, this is my first year trying this so all help is appreciated, thank you.

Comments (6)

• thatcompostguy
    10 years ago

Is your lemongrass still alive now without water over the winter? I'd be very surprised. I have mine in a sunny window and give them about a quart of water a week. They're in 12 inch terra cotta pots and their fronds curl if not watered well. Their tips are brown from the dry heat in the house, but there is still green in the bunch and new growth has been coming all winter. This is my third winter with them. Divided them last spring about this time. About time to divide again and get the new plants ready for ground planting. I keep the mother plants in pots and put some in the ground for harvesting. they do so much better in the ground. keeping some in pots allows me to overwinter them more easily since I'm more adept at growing them in pots. But the shoots I put in the ground last year went crazy. 60 shoots per cluster at the end of the season. Pots may have 30.

I can't help with lemon verbena. Wish I could get it to grow. I keep trying...

• fatamorgana2121
    10 years ago

The plants I keep in an unheated area over the winter still get a little water occasionally. Just enough to get the soil and roots from completely drying out.

FataMorgana

• eibren
    10 years ago