Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lolaaz

Culinary Lavendar

lolaaz
14 years ago

I'm brand new to GW but already impressed with the information I'm finding here. I could use some guidance on starting (from seed) and growing culinary Lavendar here in Phoenix, AZ. Some garden guides say this is zone 9, others say it's zone 10 or 10b. I'm having moderate success with a Square Foot Garden (planted the end of Feb) and with several container grown plants. With some 300+ days of sunshine each year and temperatures already in the 80's, I'm hoping I'm not too late to get started with culinary Lavendar. Any and all feedback will be much appreciated. Thanks all!

Comments (6)

• Daisyduckworth
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It is important that you get the true English Lavender, Lavandula angustifolia, or one of its derivatives, such as Hidcote, Lady or Munstead (derivatives aka cultivars may not breed true from seed). Other lavenders taste and smell somewhat camphor-y - not desirable to the taste-buds!

The concept of climate 'zones' as used in America is alien to me. But from your description, your lavender should do OK - as long as you give it some water, especially when it's young. Lavender can take copious amounts of water, as long as the excess is allowed to drain away quickly. It becomes more drought-resistant as it gets older, but will always require some watering in hot/dry times.

In its natural habitat, lavender prefers hot, dry, sunny summers and a winter rainy season. But it does well here in the subtropics, which is just the opposite - hot wet summers, and mild, dry winters. In a true Mediterranean climate, winter temperatures rarely drop below 5C (41°F) and are more likely to be in the region of 12°-13°C (53°-55°F) while in summer averages can be up to 27°C (80°F).