Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenbiker

Newbie at Herb Gardening

GreenBiker
11 years ago

Hi! I'm Ang from the Philippines!

I got into healthy cooking recently, and I thought aloud, how I wished I had all the herbs I needed in my garden. A few days later, my brother brought home little pots of various herbs, like, Purple Basil, Holy Basil, Thai Basil, Stevia, Arugula, Japanese Mint, Chocolate Mint, Peppermint, etc.

Here's the thing: I don't know what to do. I have no background in gardening. I don't know if I should water them? repot them?

Help???

Comments (9)

• wally_1936
    11 years ago

You should do a good web search on each herb for quick information. If you have the room they all need to be put into the ground soon. I understand that holy basil is a perennial and the rest of the basil's are annuals. The mints are perennials that love moist soils and can become invasive under the right conditions. Not sure how they would fare where you live. Do you have a extension agent in your country, if so they would be great in helping you with understanding how well they grow there. I do not know if there are any more members of this website who live in your area but if so they may be able to be of more help as to how to better grow them there.

• fatamorgana2121
    11 years ago

If you don't have a place to plant them in the ground, you may wish to check out the Container Gardening forum since it will have all sorts of really good advice on growing plants in pots.

FataMorgana

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

A quick answer to one question....YES, they will need to be watered!

Do you have a friend or neighbor who may be able to act as a mentor to you, giving you some help and advice?

You sure have a very nice brother!

• jll0306
    11 years ago

Hello, Ang... Here's a source that may be helpful :