Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nereid_gw

Herbs in Strawberry Pot?

nereid
18 years ago

Hello,

I am new to herb gardening and I would like to plant a few varieties in a strawberry pot. What do you recommend would work well in the smaller pockets?

Here is a list of what I am interested in:

basil

dill

chives

tarragon

sage

oregano

italian parsley

cilantro

rosemary

Thanks!

Comments (13)

• nereid
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Are there any of these herbs that would get too large to be happy in the strawberry pot ....or that I should look for dwarf varieties of? I could plant the one that needs the most room in the large top area. The pot is maybe 2 ft high and each of the six pockets are about 3.5 - 4 inches in diameter. I don't have a preference for season or year to year keeping and I am fine with having to water often.
    Thanks!

• Heathen1
    18 years ago

Are you in California? If so... don't use strawberry pots for anything but cacti. The soil dries out too fast and due to the holes, you can't ever rewet the soil. Pretty much, those things shouldn't be sold in Calif. :o( I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but they often catch the newbies with those things.

• Daisyduckworth
    18 years ago

Strawberry pots. Totally useless, IMO. Most herbs (plants in general) get too large for the tiny pockets, there's an incredible amount of competition going on amongst the various plants, it's difficult to find the right plants which will grow together, watering is a problem because water isn't evenly distributed..... The list goes on.

All of the plants listed above will be too large for a strawberry pot, with the possible exception of chives - in the short term only.

Of course, if you already have a strawberry pot, it can make an interesting garden ornament - with frogs and gnomes and things instead of plants. If you're that keen on getting a strawberry pot, and if you like frogs and gnomes in your pots!

• Heathen1
    18 years ago