Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krill_gw

unhappy chives?

krill
17 years ago

Hi

Just having a look through the herbs forum to try to find out why my chives might be unhappy. I didn't really find an answer in the threads so hope you don't mind me asking (I'm a novice grower) ...

I bought the chives in late March already established (about 10 cm tall) and potted them out onto my balcony.

Since then they have grown a bit but are hardly kicking it. I repotted them into a bigger pot as I thought maybe they didn't have enough room. They seem to be doing a little better but all my other herbs (rosemary, oregano. thyme, bay, parsley) are thriving and putting the chives to shame.

They get about 5 hours sunlight a day and I water them when they are looking dry (which is most mornings).

I haven't given them any feed yet - but I do have some liquid seaweed at hand - and my finger is on the trigger.

I thought I would ask your advice before I start messing too much. I will post a photo tomorrow when I can upload a shot.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Comments (28)

• Heathen1
    17 years ago

Well, you may have over potted the poor things. If they aren't growing, repotting is probably not the problem. So, due to over potting, you may be over watering too. This is a common problem for beginner growers. Killing with over love. :o) The size of pot is difficult to tell without a pic or a description.
    Other than that guess, without a pic, I don't have anything else for you.

• ksrogers
    17 years ago