Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boston3381

anyone grow Sweet fennel ??

boston3381
13 years ago

hi all,

i picked up a flat of Sweet fennel abought 280 plugs 3 to 4 inches in hight 1/2 inch plugs size .it was a good deal at $ 20.00 for the flat...my problem is we have never grown this befor?

we grow abought 45 types of herbs for markets and wholesale, almost all of them in 4 inch round pots.

so what i keep reading is "dose NOT develop the swollen leaf base bulb. Sweet fennel is grown as an ornamental and for the leaves which are used as a flavoring and garnish"

is this true? i dont want to put this in a 4" pot,then have this base bulb start growing..

also if this herb bolts, dose it change the tast leaves? i guess what im askin is how to care for this in the 4" pot untill its sold..

thank you for your help.."im still a little new to herbs"

Comments (9)

• fatamorgana2121
    13 years ago

As long as you were told it isn't the "vegetable," bulbing-type, you should be good. Even so, the 4" pots would hold young bulbing types just fine for some time.

You can use the fennel leaves. I never really do. I like it when fennel flowers (yellow umbrella-like blooms) and then I let the seeds mature. The dry seeds have a nice anise-like flavor and are used medicinally or in the kitchen. Fennel is a great butterfly host plant as well. The swallowtail caterpillars here love it.

FataMorgana

Here is a link that might be useful: Cornell's - Fennel page

• Daisyduckworth
    13 years ago