Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frank3857

Starting an indoor herb garden.

Frank3857
10 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm 17 years old, and this is my first post and I wanted to start an indoor herb garden. I don't exactly have what you would call a green thumb. Haha. I bought that topsy turvy tomato planter thingy and I kinda broke the seedling trying to measure it *shrugs* anyway. I was wondering what sort of materials I need, I want to plant Oregano, Chives, Chervil, Cilantro, and Basil. I also want to have each of them in separate pots. How would the drainage system work? If there is drainage holes at the bottom and I put a saucer below it would that work? I don't want the water dripping onto the windowsill. What size should I get? Is an 8in. diameter pot okay? Should I go with plastic or clay or that terra-stuff. Thank you for your help and please don't flame me. I'm a newbie.

Comments (11)

• balloonflower
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hey and welcome! And green thumbs can be earned by learning about your plants and how to take care of them. Most of us have killed our fair share.

First off, you'll need to look at each plant individually and find out what they like. You have some very different ones there. Chervil is a shade loving cooler plant, cilantro also likes it cooler, while basil loves heat and sun. Most herbs need a lot of light, so it should be a window that gets 6-8 hours of direct sun--not just reflective light. Otherwise, you may need additional light. (I do a lot of pots inside, but with artificial lights as my windows are east/west). Is your plan to just do indoor pots because you have no outdoor planting space, to keep year round, or what? I would recommend starting with one at a time--get it figured out, then study and add another plant.