Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
apinkpeacock

Under or Over Watering - total newbie here

APinkPeacock
9 years ago

I've always wanted my own herb garden cause I'm tired of spending $3 for a few leaves of basil, so I planted one with a few herbs. I got them all as starter plants and now I don't know if I am over watering or under. The basil was gorgeous when I got it and I had it inside for a few days before I got the other plants and it was thriving now it is pooping out on me as well as the chocolate mint I planted. It is on the north side of the house on my back porch. Any help will be much appreciated :)

Comments (4)

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

OK, all is not lost but be prepared for lots of info. and some work.

1. Do I see peat pots? They are a nightmare and wick out moisture. As you can see the one around the mint is dry like cardboard. And the potting mix is coming away from the sides of the container implying it is dry.
    2. You have too many herbs in one container.
    3. You have mixed herbs which need different growing conditions.

What I would do.

1. Get some more containers and fill with a sharp draining mix. The mix can be a little heavier for the parsley and the mint.
    2. Water your herbs very thoroughly and then dig them all up.
    3. Peel off the peat pots.
    4. Replant each type of herb in a pot of its own. Water again.
    5. Put the mint and parsley in a semi-shady position.
    6. Put the basil, thyme and oregano in a sunny position but shade for the first few days while they get used to it.
    7. I don't know your temperatures at present but the basil needs real heat. If it is not yet warm day and night where you are bring the basil back indoors at night. In my climate I never even put basil outdoors but grow it under glass all summer. It can take a baking but hates chill.
    8. The mint and parsley will need more watering than the other herbs.

• fatamorgana2121
    9 years ago