Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
growing rosemary in a pot

Posted by yippee1999 6/7 NYC (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 11, 12 at 19:14

I have a rosemary plant that I intend to grow in a pot on my balcony. I've never had much luck with rosemary in the past. Eventually the plant dries out.

I always use plastic pots with drainage holes, layer the bottom with rocks, use potting soil mixed with perlite and compost, a layer of mulch on top of the soil, and then I water the plant as needed. I'd recently read however that rosemary likes ...I think it said a 'humid' or otherwise moist environment? So I was thinking that putting a glass dome over the pot could help with that but then....it would probably crack in the heat and sun no? So what other ways are there for me to add 'humidity' or help a rosemary plant to do better?

Also, this is my first time growing it on a 4th floor balcony (as opposed to in a ground floor yard) that is also more susceptible to wind. Will the wind factor also make it more vulnerable to drying out? Would I do better trying to keep the plant indoors on a sunny windowsill instead, and then I'd also be able to keep a dome over it?

Tx!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: growing rosemary in a pot

Rosemary is a Mediterranean herb, so it needs full sun. Keeping it indoors is not an option. Rosemary also prefers dryer soil and likes to dry out between waterings, So watering more once or twice a week(or when soil is dry to first knuckle of finger). I don't think it really "likes" humidity. I've never had rosemary dry out, so i'm guessing the wind is dry out the plants faster. Mulching is a great idea for the wind, but try making a windbreak, like hanged panes of plexiglass or planting things like bamboo. Keep using plastic if plants dry out faster. Feeding with a weak fertilizer once in a while might help the plant to be stronger.

o