Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamiof4

More herbs or too late?

mamiof4
13 years ago

I am a newbie and I am garden crazy this year. I have a flower garden, vegetable garden and I started a small herb garden. The herb garden started off as part of the vegetable garden but I have decided to seperate the two. I have sweet basil (seeds), cilantro (seeds) and a small rosemary plant that was given to me currently growing in the herb garden. Now to my question I really want to throw some more herbs into the garden and was wondering if it is too late. If it is not too late what should a plant? I have found a love in gardening but do not know what will grow best. I cook a lot but never use fresh herbs because they were above my budget. I want to try new things so I would love to hear what are your favorites and should they be grown by seeds or should I buy a plant? Oh I have a huge yard (full sun) so space is not an issue. Can't wait to hear your responses. Thanks!

Comments (8)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    13 years ago

It's late to plant seeds, but you could surely enjoy the results of some herb plants. Be sure to do a little research as some herbs don't like the heat of the summer.

• maifleur01
    13 years ago

I would purchase the small sized container plants from the nursery. Try not to spend too much but there are different kinds of basil you can eat most but some just for being pretty.. A couple of different thymes and an organo to place in an area that would not be disturbed.

If you like cilantro you should purchase a couple of packets of seeds for the first couple of rounds then let yours go to seed. When the seed is dry it will fall from the seed head and if it likes where it is at you will have a continous supply for the summer.

• MGPinSavannah
    13 years ago