Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

cool weather herbs, warm weather herbs

A note to all who post on this thread. I live in a southern state, Florida. So as a result, anything that is planted is best done in the winter months and spring (basically our planting season is about September-April; our off season is the summer months......June, July, and August)

I know that with vegetables, some prefer and need cool weather to grow and thrive, and some prefer and need hot weather to grow and thrive.

I believe the same principles apply when it comes to herb gardening, despite the fact that I've never done herb gardening before.

I can't grow anything now because it's too late to plant anything due to where I live. Any information acquired from this thread is for future reference.

Below is a list of herbs I would eventually like to grow. Essentially they're all culinary herbs.

basil

chives

cilantro

dill

lavender

lemon grass

mint

oregano

parsley

rosemary

sage

thyme

I managed to find a website that lists these herbs as herbs that prefer cool weather:

*Chives

*Cilantro

*Dill

*Mint

*Parsley

*Rosemary

*Sage

*Thyme

Is this an accurate list?

If such is the case then I'm assuming via process of elimination that these herbs prefer warm or hot weather

*Basil

*Lemon grass

*Oregano

Comments (9)

• Daisyduckworth
    15 years ago

Forget 'weather' and instead think 'climate'. All herbs originated from Somewhere, and once you know where Somewhere is, you can find out what the prevailing climate is Somewhere. Hence, you can find out just what conditions each herb prefers, and you can do your best to emulate those conditions.

For example, from your list:
    Lemongrass is native mainly to South Asia. Climate in South Asia is tropical or nearly so. Tropical climate means hot and humid all year round, with frequent (often daily) heavy rain. Rain runs off quickly except in monsoonal seasons where flooding can occur.