Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynnfrazer

How do you use Green Shiso

lynnfrazer
14 years ago

I finally got some seeds and got them planted..Im totally new to this plant and am only growing it because im curious about it any information you can tell me will be apppreciated :)

Comments (5)

• Daisyduckworth
    14 years ago

Perilla comes in two main varieties - red and green. If you want to be pedantic, the red kind is called Shiso or Beefsteak Plant, and the green kind is called Oba or Japanese basil. Really, both can be used in much the same ways. However, traditionally, the green variety is mostly used with raw fish dishes.

Most people use it just like spinach, raw in salads or cooked. It goes well in stirfries.

There are countless recipes on the internet. Search for either 'Shiso recipes' or 'perilla recipes.

Harvesting: Harvest leaves as required for culinary use, best in summer once the plants are 10cm high and the leaves are 10cm long. Harvest seeds in late summer to autumn. Seeds are ready when they rattle inside the seed pod. For sprouts, harvest once the first true leaves have started to form. Flowerheads, cut on stalks 15cm from the tip, are harvested with 5-6 of the flowers have opened. Leaves rapidly lose flavour and aroma when dried.