Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
putri_m

Rosemary as a border...Good or bad?

putri.m
13 years ago

I just purchased small rosemaries from a local nursery and wondered if it would be fine if i plant them as a border? Right now they are about 4inches in height and very sturdy so I thought of bordering my garden with them especially since they'll help repel unwanted insects. But I was uncertain if this was a good idea or not cause i read that rosemaries get quite big. If so, would pruning it be enough to maintain its size?

Oh by the way the location I'd like to plan them gets sun in the morning and sun to partial shade in the afternoon.

PLEASE give me advice, I'm very new at planting herbs.

~thanks

Comments (12)

• fatamorgana2121
    13 years ago

Zone 6 is borderline at best for rosemary surviving the winter cold. If you want to try it, make sure to get the hardiest rosemary varieties like "Arp."

FataMorgana

• laura21774
    13 years ago

Yup rosemary can grow into a massive bush if you can get it to live through the winter. I so far have not had luck in that department in Western MD, but I did have a friend who lives 5 mins from me who had about a 5 foot rosemary bush after 3 yrs

• putri.m
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the tips guys.

Daisy, that is one big rosemary!Very healty i assume...

• nygardener
    13 years ago

I've seen it used as a border in northern California, where it grows very well. But I've never had it survive the winter.

Some people in our climate grow rosemary pots and move it into an unheated barn for the winter.

• californian
    13 years ago

I have three Tuscany Blue Rosemary plants that have formed a continuous hedge ten feet wide and three feet high. They are so healthy looking. The only pest seems to be spittle bugs, but the plant can grow faster than they can eat it. I spray then off with a hose. I also have a prostrate Rosemary plant that is hanging over my retaining wall.

• tomtuxman
    13 years ago