Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
African Blue Basil

Posted by charlie29485 8 (My Page) on
Tue, May 18, 10 at 9:54

Newbie here. I purchased an African Blue Basil last week with long purple flowers. However, I noticed that since it was a woody plant I thought it would be okay and would continue to grow. Am I wrong? Should I go ahead and cut off the flowers now? Is there anything else I should be aware of? Appreciate the help. (BTW they told me it was a purple basil, so it shows you how much I know!)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: African Blue Basil

I could be completely off base here...but, If I bought a basil plant now that had flowers on it..I'd for sure cut them off.
It's too early in the season for them to be flowering would be my train of thought on that.
I cut the flowers off most things right now though...except of course my flower plants. lol

o

The following information is courtesy of the Herb Society of America:

African Blue

Ocimum Dark Opal x O. kilmandscharicum African Blue

African Blue is a large bushy plant growing to 4'. Not usually considered a culinary basil, but useful in flower arrangements and as a landscape plant. Flavor is sweet, but to some this basil has strong balsam tones with a hint of turpentine.

I don't know where you live, but down here in south Texas I treated my African Blue as a perennial. It lived for about 5 years before I pulled it up because it had gotten so woody and "wild" looking. It is a hybrid, i.e. the seeds are sterile. I let it bolt out all the time; never cut off any of the flowers. But then it might have lived a long time because I'm in zone 9a (actually living on the water more like zone 9b). Anyway, I would just let it go and see what happens.

o