Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
florrie2

overwintering rosemary

florrie2
14 years ago

Hi everyone: I'd like some advice on overwintering rosemary. I've tried several times, and it has died each winter. I have plenty of sun: geraniums and hibiscus both bloom all winter in my southeast window. What's frustrating is that I have plenty of plants, including "difficult" plants such as orchids and bromeliads, so it's not as if I'm a novice.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks, Florrie

Comments (17)

• leira
    14 years ago

I don't know how much advice I can offer, but I can certainly offer sympathy. This past Winter was the first time I ever succeeded in keeping a rosemary through the Winter (they usually die in March or so). It wasn't the healthiest looking thing by the end, but by golly, it was ALIVE. My current goal is to successfully over-Summer it outdoors.

Let me tell you what I do know.

Over-watering is one of the worst things for a rosemary. Apparently many people do this. They prefer to be dried & drenched, more like they'd get in a desert. But not too dry, of course (this is my more common problem).

Many people seem to have success with keeping rosemary someplace where it can go dormant, like in an unheated room, or an attached garage, or something like that. I recently heard of someone keeping it in the basement under a grow light. Different varieties have different cold tolerance, but AFAIK, there aren't any that couldn't handle a frost or a light freeze. In this case, you keep it watered as needed, but not too often.

If you're not going to send it dormant for the Winter, you should try to get it plenty of bright light. This can be hard in the Winter.

That being said, I don't have anywhere suitable for dormancy, and didn't manage to get my rosemary into particularly bright light, but it did make it (though a bit pale, and a bit spindly). It's coming back now, though.