Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeri

First Timer not sure how to begin...

jeri
10 years ago

You need to know that I have had Zero gardening experience.

I would like to plant: Parsley, Rosemary, Thyme, Cilantro, Basil, Mint, and Tarragon. Perhaps a few others as well. These will all be used for cooking.

I don't know if I should plant in the ground, raised planters, pots, or a mix? The side of my house where I would grow these faces south, and I think I am Zone 9.

DH is very handy, so if a raised bed is preferred over in ground, that would not be a problem.

How do I start??? Should I just put each in it's own pot and call it a day?

Comments (3)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

You are off to a good start with a raised bed, location facing south(plenty of sun).. I am sure others will advise you also but here few things I want to say.

Number one, DO NOT plant mint in the garden. Mints are invasive and can take over the entire bed and beyond(LOL).

Perenials: Rosemay, thyme, sage, tarragon... will come back year after year and get biger in size. This is especially true for rosemary and sage. So give them a little more space. I would also recommend to buy establishe plants from nurseris and plant them. I, personally, with some gardening experience would not bother starting them from seeds.

Biennial: Parsely lasts for two years. So if you plant them this year they will come back next year then bolts.

The rest in your list are annuals,; that will be around just this season. ABOUT cilantros: Are you in zone 10? if yes, then I think it is too late to plant them this year. They like cooler weather.

One more thing: Most herbs like well drained soil and slightly on the sweet(alkaline) side or nutral. So, with raised bed the drainage issue sould be taken care of to some extent. But need to sweeten the soil a bit.

• balloonflower
    10 years ago