Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katwomn59

What's wrong with my basil?

katwomn59
17 years ago

I have genovese basil planted potted in a mix of 1:1:1 commercial potting mix, compost and large perlite, with some bark chips thrown in for extra drainage. I have 2 problems:

New growth coming in with crinkled, upturned leaves:

Also the older leaves are getting a bit pale:

I cant figure out what is wrong. Too much water? Not enough? More fert? I know that uncomposted bark can deplete nitrogen, so I have been giving it some fert: 3-1.5-2 and 2-3-1. I also added some 5-5-5 slow release to the potting mix. Maybe not enough?

It also started flowering very shortly after planting. Could this have something to do with it? I am still pretty new to gardening (this is only my second season), but I grew basil last year and didnt have any problem. Overpotting maybe? Last year, I planted it in an 8" pot which it outgrew very quickly. So this year I potted it in a 10" pot with a wick so that I wouldnt have to repot.

Also, I used something called dynarok as mulch. It used mostly in hydroponics and absorbs water. I read that using it to top dress can help keep roots cool due to evaporation. Apparently it was keeping the surface pretty moist because not too long ago I noticed a lot of roots on the surface of the mix apparently trying to grow into the dynarok. So I removed it and added more potting mix to cover the roots. But the new growth is still comming in crinkled.

Any thoughts or advice?

Thanks,

Lydia

Comments (7)

• vera_eastern_wa
    17 years ago

Since it is centered around new growth, check under the leaves for thrips. They prefer to hide under new growth tips and feeding damage causes leaf-curl/distortion as they unfold.
    Older leaves naturally yellow and fall away.

Vera

Here is a link that might be useful: Thrips

• Amino_X
    17 years ago