Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Peppermint - Please, Help A Beginner In Distress!

Posted by ashleighv none (My Page) on
Wed, May 14, 14 at 17:49

Morning all,
I am having a bit of dilemma with a wee Peppermint plant I purchased through a small mail-order company.
My Peppermint seems to have had a break out, it looks like it has tiny little whitehead pimples on the underside of some leaves & browny splotches on the upperside like the leaves are bruised?
As a newbie I am constantly questioning if I am doing things right & if my plants are healthy,
I don't have very wide vocabulary when it comes to "gardening" so thought if I described as if the plant was human & accompanied my description with some images then it would more helpful :)
The overall plant is in good health (I presume) with dark green shiny leaves but just some of the leaves closer to the soil are breaking out with this condition :(
Any advice would be greatly appreciated or suggestions for a treatment.
Thank you,
Ashleigh

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Peppermint - Please, Help A Beginner In Distress!

I am afraid I can't give you much advice as to what it is, but I would at the very least cut the affected leaves and stems off and dispose of them.

o

They look like hard-shell aphids. I agree, cut off any infested leaves quickly.

o