Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boston3381

help!! with purple ruffle basil

boston3381
12 years ago

what am i doing wrong??? this is my first time growing this type. they are all abought 4 to 5 inches tall in 4" pots. i have aboght 200 of them.

we grow all types of basil with very little problems from: sweet, thai, dark opal, afican, and more..

for some reason this purple ruffle basil is top heavy? stem seems real weak.

every time i water them they fall over and it takes them abought 2 hrs to become upright again, it been that way for weeks now...on top of all that i am getting stemm rot and there folding and dieing...UHG!!!!

i konw im not over warting, there in the green house at night, not to windy, and there getting lots of sun light...all my other basil is fine with very little loss..if any problem that i have had is a little bit of cold hit them. but they come out of that with a little care..

PLZ if some can help, i spent a lot of time trying to grow this type. i dont like wasting herbs that i should be proud to grow and sell.....

very upset,

JOSH

Comments (6)

• Daisyduckworth
    12 years ago

It's a sad but true fact of life that not all nurserymen are honest. A common and unscrupulous practice is for them to wait until potted plants are beyond the stage where they should have been potted-on, very pot-bound, so they spend a couple of weeks spraying those 'old' plants with quick-acting fertiliser (high in nitrogen) to green up the top bits and make them look lush and healthy.

In fact, with pot-bound plants, it's the roots which are beyond saving. They're all curled up and squashed, and they can't feed from the soil - a bit like trying to drink through a crushed or bent straw.

Once those roots have grown all curled up and squashed, it's impossible to get them to straighten out, so the plant is handicapped from a very young age. They'll never grow to optimum size or condition, IF they grow at all!