Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
richselk

herb quality

RichSelk
11 years ago

Hi all,

Newbie here. Is there a real difference in taste and quality between different brands of herbs purchased from the nursery? Is there a brand that is superior to others?

Thanks,

Rich

Comments (9)

• agmss15
    11 years ago

I'm not sure quite what you mean by brand - either variety or grower/producer? Example label might say -
    Rich's Herbs - grower
    Italian large leaf basil - herb and variety

The same variety of an herb by different growers should taste the same but quality can be quite different. However since there are different growers in different areas of the country unless you lived near me I wouldn't have a recommendation. Different varieties of the same herb can taste quite different - example thai basil and italian basil taste different.

• fatamorgana2121
    11 years ago

If by "brand" you mean "variety" or "cultivar," then the answer is yes. There are many varieties of basil - for example my favorite thai basil is the variety "Siam Queen." Everyone's preference for certain varieties varies with their individual tastes. Try different ones and see what you like best.

FataMorgana

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

I was thinking that Rich meant producers or growers. I guess we'll never know unless he gets back to us.

The reason I thought that is because one very common producer of containerized vegetable and herb plants grows herbs that taste very 'watered' down to me. I'm sure that they 'speed grow' them using lots of nitrogen which can greatly reduce the concentration of flavors and aromas.

Do you know what I mean?

• eibren
    11 years ago

Yes, and some growers use potting soil that requires daily watering if the plant is not to die while awaiting planting, or even after. I have vowed not to purchase plants from such growers, as it is almost always a waste of money. These are probably the same "watered down" plants referred to. Am I right?