Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
berkeleyluddite

How to harvest basil???

berkeleyluddite
18 years ago

I just got a bed of 10 basil plants and I'm ready for my first harvest. What are the proper procedure to ensure vigorous strong growth after harvesting? Everyone tells me to either cut back, pick the big leaves or combination of both. Please tell me exactly what to do it since I'm a beginner...

Thanks!

Comments (42)

• Daisyduckworth
    18 years ago

No talent or special knowledge required.

Close your eyes and chop where you want. Make sure children's fingers and dogs' noses are out of reach. I use hedge-cutters because my plants are large, you may prefer scissors. If you cut from the top, you'll encourage bushier growth of your plant. If you cut from the bottom or sides, you'll encourage a taller, more slender plant. Don't chop more than one-third of total growth at any one time.

If your plant is still very young, just pick off a few leaves from the top. I prefer to cut off whole stems - bare stems on a plant look ugly, don't you think?

If drying your basil, leave the leaves on the stems until they are nice and crunchy - they are easier to remove from the stems once dried. If freezing your basil leaves, line up your scissors (or a sharp knife) along the stem and chop whole rows of leaves at once. That way - no stems attached!

If using fresh for casseroles etc, leave the leaves on the stems and fish out the 'tree' before serving, just as you would a bay leaf. No chopping!

Oh, and you can eat the flowers, too.

• teendoc
    17 years ago

Your advice is fabulous! Thanks for educating this newbie.

• nygardener
    17 years ago

The only thing I would add to those mouth-watering descriptions is that basil tastes better before it flowers  so be sure to include in your harvest any stems that have flower buds forming at the ends. The buds look like miniature green Chinese pagodas. Even better, get 'em before the buds form.