Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leslie_c

harvesting thyme?

leslie_c
16 years ago

I planted my new thyme plant about 2 weeks ago and it is doing fine. this is my first time with thyme and I was wondering when I can begin harvesting some leaves from it? Its only about 3 inches tall so far, :)Same with my rosemary plant?

Comments (12)

• Heathen1
    16 years ago

If your rosemary is only 3 inches tall, I'd say no, give it some time to grow. The thyme, if it's your basic cooking thyme won't get any taller.... but it will spread! :) Personally, I'd give it another week... it's probably just getting started.

• Daisyduckworth
    16 years ago

In theory you can start harvesting at any time, but will it be enough to do anything with? Take no more than one third of total growth at any one time. If that means one leaf/sprig out of three, then go for it!

My common thyme gets about 30cm tall AND it spreads, but not much because it grows more upright than other thymes. When I'm able to give it some water, that is. Every now and then I tip a half-bucket or so of potting mix over it, and it renews itself by layering.

• tanama
    16 years ago

If I may tag onto your thread... I have several thyme, rosemary and oregano plants that are doing very well, but I'm not sure if there is some "best" way to harvest them. I'm used to harvesting basil from the top down, but not sure if there is a "best" way for these perennial herbs to keep them healthy year to year. All I've been doing so far is randomly cutting the longest shoots of the thyme and oregano, which since they're so all over the place anyway seems to do well enough (though I want to know if there's a better way). But I want to encourage the rosemary to grow as bushy as possible, and I'm just not sure if I should try and vary where I cut, or work on one "branch" and cut that all the way down before moving to another.

Hints and directions as to how to do this best are most appreciated!