Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandpapertongue

Slugs love dill!

Sandpaper Tongue
10 years ago

This is my first year planting dill, and I have never in my life seen so many slugs! I found a huge one on the ground, and my dill plant is covered in tiny ones.

I've been flicking them off my plant and smushing them. A part of me feels bad though -- they don't appear to be eating the plant to nothingness (I grow the dill mainly for butterflies & their caterpillars). But they gross me out, I have to say, and I would rather they not be in my garden.

Copper, coffee grounds, diatomaceous earth -- do these really work? Or should I just keep picking them off?

Or do slugs serve a good purpose somehow and should be spared?

Comments (14)

• batyabeth
    10 years ago

They are bird food, lizard food, frog food. Other than that, kill 'em all I say, flick them off your plant, etc. Nothing much works against them, I've found. Slugs and snails ruin much of my garden every year. I hand pick them off at least twice a day in our wet season.

If it's between them or my plants, the plants win.

• margowicz
    10 years ago

check the vid

Here is a link that might be useful: trap

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Has anybody tried used coffee grounds ?

• Persimmons
    10 years ago

I've heard a drink of beer from the bottle top is enough alcohol to kill them and they enjoy drinking it.

• nickl
    10 years ago

You can reduce the slug problem by encouraging predators such as amphibians, mammals, and birds, and by maintaining a moderate mulch to promote insect predators. However, a NEW mulch will actually encourage slugs at first. But you have to start sometime.

Iron phosphate (sold as Slug-go, Slug Magic, and other brands). is very effective and safe on herbs and other edibles.. However, it isn't cheap and it must be reapplied after every heavy rain..

• wally_1936
    10 years ago