Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dpinker1

What's your favorite Herb receipe?

dpinker1
18 years ago

Thought we should pass on some favorites. I am new at this so am looking for some idea's. My herbs have taken off.

Thanks

Comments (17)

• gardenofa
    18 years ago

I like mincing herbs up and mixing with butter. Great on corn on the cob, corn roasted in the husk, great on grilled fish, steak, chicken. Also great on french bread lightly grilled. And of course delicious on baked potatoes and cooked veggies.

I also like to make tea with mint leaves brewed along with tea. Orange mint, peppermint, spearmint, chocolate mint....all yummy. Lemon balm also great in tea.

• HanArt
    18 years ago

Boursin is one of mine.

BOURSIN CHEESE

8 oz. cream cheese, softened
    4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
    1/2 teaspoon garlic, mashed & finely minced
    1 teaspoon oregano, chopped (I prefer dried oregano, so I use less)
    2 teaspoons chives, chopped
    2 tablespoons basil, chopped
    1-2 teaspoons thyme, chopped
    1/2 teaspoon dill
    2 teaspoons parsley, chopped
    coarse salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

BEAT cheese and butter together. Add garlic, mixing well. Add finely chopped herbs, salt and pepper.

CHILL slightly and form into ball or log. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Refrigerate or freeze. Serve with crackers.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:898610}}

• jenn
    18 years ago

Just browsing through the Herbs forum and happened upon this thread, and it reminded me of this recipe. I've made it many times and it always gets compliments. I use dried herbs so you'll need to adjust for fresh ones.

Special Herb Bread

This recipe was published in the Food section of the Los Angeles Times in the mid-1980's. It's always a hit and great with BBQ main dishes. Try heating it, wrapped in foil, on the grill.

* 1 C butter, softened
    * 1 tsp. garlic powder
    * 1 tsp. celery flakes
    * 1 tsp. beau monde seasoning
    * 1 tsp. sage