Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brookekirchner

herbs for shade and heat

brookekirchner
9 years ago

I asked this on my state forum and got a few responses but looking for more. I realize I'm late getting started so looking for ideas for the fall planting season. The weather here stays very hot until september/ october (100's). I just bought a town home with a walled patio and a large shady tree next to it.
I get probably 2-3 hours of partial shade a day. I would love to do raised beds but I don't want to waste my time. I'm a complete newbie! any ideas for edible (culinary) herbs that will tolerate the heat and the shade? I don't have a ton of space so I would have to do raised beds or containers of some sort.

so far the ideas given to me have been:

basil and garlic

Any other ideas?

Comments (4)

• fatamorgana2121
    9 years ago

Culinary herbs tend to be mostly full-sun things. Lovage can tolerate some partial shade.

FataMorgana

• eibren
    9 years ago

You could try various mints and oregano, as well as sage and thyme. They will not be as vigorous, but usually can survive in less than full sun. Pineapple sage can, as well.

Lemon balm will do quite well in part shade.

• Vicissitudezz
    9 years ago

I can attest that mints will be fine with just a little sun- in fact, it's always a good idea to keep mint in containers to try to slow their quest for world domination.

We have a lot of trees in our yard, and the neighbors ask how I can grow anything in so much shade, but I've learned that shade is an asset in our hot 8b climate. I am also learning that there is more sun in our yard over the course of a long summer day than I really thought.

Not everything likes our dappled shade/ part sun, but I am growing rosemary, various thymes, lovage, oregano, chives, garlic, parsley, basil, borage, culinary sage, winter savory, pineapple sage, and white bergamot (a type of bee balm) in dappled shade.