Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
margar02

Basil indoors (please forgive Newb-ish-ness!)

Margar02
12 years ago

Hi there, I'm totally new to growing anything whatsoever and in need of some help. Apologies in advance for simple questions. :(

So I bought a basil plant at the grocery store, and had it in my apartment for about 10 days before I knew I needed serious help. It got wilty and limp...

So I re-potted it in a 5 inch terra cotta pot with a hole and plate, in organic potting soil. I also got some vegetable/herb plant food which I mixed and was planning on giving every 2 weeks...

My main concern is this:

I have it in a sunny window (SW-Facing) it gets sun from about 1-8pm in the summer in NE ohio.

But I'm concerned about the fact that it got quite leggy in the duration of time that I knew nothing about basil. I have 3 stalks that are at least 5 inches long before any leaves, and then about 4 more stalks that are much smaller.

What should I do?? What should I do about the really leggy stems? Do I cut them off completely? do I cut them after the first 2 leaves? I don't want a tall, leggy, sparse plant.

AND about freezing- I'd like to make pesto at some point... should I just periodically harvest the mature leaves and freeze them until I have enough to make pesto??

I'm 100% new to any type of gardening so please be patient and forgive my newbishness :(

Comments (7)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago

I'm afraid that there is really no way to provide enough light for basil in a sunny window. These are plants that thrive in FULL sunlight outside, and we just cannot duplicate those conditions inside without plenty of artificial lighting systems. No matter how many hours of light provided by this window, the light rays are still filtered by the glass, and no sunlight is drenching your plant from above and from the back. That explains the legginess.