Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sharonrossy

What herbs to plant together

sharonrossy
10 years ago

Hi I'm thinking of planting a few herbs in a large container. Are there any combinations, or conditions that favor growing some together and not others?
Looking for advice thanks, Sharon

Comments (14)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

You can plant parsley, cilantro, basil(smaller variety), chives together.

but perennials like thyme, sage, oregano... its better to plant the separately. You can plant them together too but they will be crowded next year.

• domino123
    10 years ago

I'm new to this too, and may seem like a silly question...

^Does that mean for my zone 5 garden that thyme, sage, oregano (parsley, cilantro and basil too) will act as a perennial and grow back next year or is it that some of these tend to re-seed themselves?

• jll0306
    10 years ago

Cilantro and parsely will reseed themselves. Perhaps Basil, though i've never tried it. You can extend your season on these, by growing some in containers that can be moved to progressively warmer spots as needed.

With adequate protection, the others (woody, drought tolerant, Mediterranean herbs may survive in the ground throughout your winter, but, personally, I would keep them in pots and move them into shelter of some sort.

if you don't, then take some late season cuttings and root them, just in case you need new plants next year. if you can keep the original ones alive, they grow to be large plants that can be divided through the root ball, which will also give you new plants.

Jan

• sharonrossy
    Original Author
    10 years ago

In my zone 5b, thyme, oregano and sage will come back as well as parsley (sometime) and of course mint. Basil definitely not in our zone. I have found that rosemary, basil and parsley do better for me in containers. Oh, and chives are perennial as well.

• balloonflower
    10 years ago