Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steveinjersey

Dill - harmfull to Bell Peppers?

steveinjersey
10 years ago

Hello,
It's my first year growing dill. I have it planted between my cucumbers and Bell peppers. The cukes are going great guns, but I have lost 3 pepper plants over the past 2 weeks. They just wilt one day, and then are completely dead within 1-2 more days.

There are no bugs, no root issues, no fungus, no powdery mildew, and all other plants are fine, so not a watering issue. So, I look online and see that Dill is a bad companion plant for Tomatoes. Is it also a bad plant to have next to Peppers?
Thanks,
Steve

Comments (7)

• florauk
    10 years ago

I doubt very much that the dill is the problem. IMO opinion most of the 'companion plant' pronouncements are highly suspect apart from a small number of genuinely allelopathic species. I think the key might be in your words 'all other plants are fine, so not a watering issue.' Cucumbers and peppers have different water requirements so the assumption that because one lot of plants is doing well there isn't watering issue is erroneous. Check the water needs for each of your crops individually and give them water accordingly. Don't treat them all the same. Good luck. Try the Vegetable Forum if you have further trouble with your peppers.

• chervil2
    10 years ago

Check the interior stem of your dead peppers. There is a worm that bores out the internal tissue and I suspect this is your culprit. You can save your pepper plants by cutting away the dead tissue. The base of the plant will send out new growth and you should be able to still have a crop of peppers. This year I have had quite a few of my pepper plants affected by these nasty borers. However, I have new growth that is doing well and the plants look great again. I have never noticed dill to adversely affect the growth of any neighboring plants. Most of my dill self-sows all over the garden and I love its presence.

• tishtoshnm Zone 6/NM