Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eileen_plants

Flowers on Basil

eileen_plants
16 years ago

Recently, I grew four basil plants from seed under lights. They did beautifully, and now one of them actually has tiny white flowers at the very top of the plant! Another basil plant is starting to get them as well. I am completely new to herbs and was just wondering if this is common? Also grew oregano, dill and sage, no flowers, though. All of these plants were grown indoors and remain there. Am worried about when they outgrow their lighting system, however, don't think my south window will be sunny enough and unfortunately I have no garden. Would love to keep them all going, any suggestions?

Comments (16)

• herboholic
    16 years ago

Yes, this is normal. Basil is a flowering plant. You probably want to pinch off those flowers to encourage the plant to keep growing, to bush out. Basil can grow quite large, so give it a nice sized pot with good drainage. Basil also likes to be fed occasionally. But not too much. You don't want any soil toxicity. Give it as much sun as you can. Basil LOVES full sun.

Some people claim to notice a difference in taste after the basil has flowered (not as good), and although I keep mine pinched back, an occasional flower does appear....but I've never noticed any difference in the quality of taste. I grow mine outdoors, though.

Try to avoid keeping the basil up against the glass of the windows. The light that filters in isn't the same as if it were outdoors, and the basil will "fry". But it needs LOTS of sun to grow big, strong and healthy.

And pinch those heads off if you want to get a nice bushy basil plant. :-)

• Daisyduckworth
    16 years ago