Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
necessity

Dying Lavender HELP

necessity
18 years ago

I got a big lavender bush the beginning of the spring. It was recently doing GREAT, beautiful flowers, amazing fragrance. We left for a short trip over 4th of July weekend, during which our neighbor watered for us, and when we came back about 1/4th of the plant was dark grey and shriveling up. I thought maybe a cat pee'd on it. We cut off the dead parts, figuring it would be fine. Well a few days later now more of the plant is dying.

I probably overwatered it, but don't know what to do to stop the death and help save this quickly dying plant.

If I were to take cuttings from it, how do I do that? I'm a beginner gardener (obvious by my killing of the lavender bush)and need all the help I can get.

Please help!!!

Thank you

Comments (13)

• shortarse_hedgewitch
    18 years ago

what kind of soil you on? is the bush in a pot or in the ground

to take cuttings you probably don't need rooting powder but if you have it all the better. look for still healthy shoots, ones that are small and branching off the stems. take them firmly between you fingers, at where they meet the stem and pull them downso theres a bit of a "heel" on the stem. remove the bottom sets of leaves, pulling them off UPWARDS. if you have hormone rooting powder just dip the bottoms of the cuttings in, then push into soil, preferably otting compost and in pots. or alternatively out them into a glass of water on a windowsill.

remember to remove any flowers or flowerbuds from cuttings as they drain resources that the cuttings need for developing roots.

keep them well watered.

and its hard to overwater lavender as far as i know.