Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taigen_gw

New to herbs..would like some insight

taigen_gw
14 years ago

Hi...I am new to growing herbs and would appreciate any help anyone can offer. I have been picking, cleaning and using them over the summer...but would like to learn how to dry and save them for use in the winter. I chose to grow mine in large pots in the garden and am not able to bring them in for the winter.

I have;

lemon balm, rosemary, french taragon, marjoram, basil, thyme, summer sage, golden orgeno, chives, and lemon verbena. I also have lavender growing in the gardens. I tend to be one of those folks that enjoys even just touching the leaves of things to smell and many of these herbs are really quite lovely for that.

As I said I have really enjoyed cooking with fresh herbs this summer and hope to expand a little more next year.

Comments (5)

• marlingardener
    14 years ago

Taigen,
    You have a lovely array of herbs, and you are so wise to be touching, smelling and eating them.
    Rosemary, French tarragon, marjoram, basil, thyme, oregano and verbena can be dried successfully. Cut stems early in the morning, as soon as the dew is off. Gather several (4-6) stems and tie them together, then hang the bunch out of direct sunlight and where there is good air circulation. Depending on the herb and the amount of humidity in the air, the herbs will be crisp and dry in one to two weeks. Strip the leaves off and store in an airtight container out of direct sun and heat. Do not crush or pulverize the leaves--that offers more surface area for loss of flavor. It is always best to crush herb leaves just before using.
    Basil also freezes well--I chop basil leaves very fine, add just enough vegetable oil to make a paste, and freeze in ice cube trays, then store the "basil balls" in a freezer bag. Chives freeze well--just cut, put on a piece of waxed paper, and when frozen, put in a freezer bag.