Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
my potted mint died in 2 weeks

Posted by new_grdnr z9 CA (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 20, 05 at 11:52

Hi,

I am new to gardening and experimenting with herbs. Got some curly mint from OSH along with rosemary and thai basil. all in 2.8 x 2.8" square plastic pots. I left all of them on my kitchen window sill, facing North. I have been watering them once daily. After about 12 days, all of a sudden, my mint died!!? all the leaves got dried up and the stem was also very dried up. so i watered them long and twice daily for 2 days, but it doesn't seem to help.

today i checked them closely and i see very tiny bugs or buglike things (light green)on them.

PS: the roots had come slightly out of the pot.

I live in the bay area in California, zone 9.
please help. any advice is good. is it too much water or too much heat? all my other herbs are doing good.

thanks in advance,
vijay

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: my potted mint died in 2 weeks

oh... could you have stuck them outside? Plants really don't like being indoors...so, first things first, those are TINY pots, tiny! they needed to be repotted, all 3 of them. next thing, the rosemary, even here in Sacramento doesn't like to be watered everyday. So, repot the other two into at least 4" pots, the rosemary will eventually have to be repotted in a bigger pot. then go down and buy more mint and try again! :o)

o

ok, shall repot them asap. thanks :)
but do you know if the tiny green spots are aphids.
read in other forums that mint cannot die and will sprout back. is that true? should i discard them totally?

o

• Posted by Baci z10Ca (My Page) on
    Wed, Jul 20, 05 at 17:07

You can try cutting the top off of the mint, make sure the root is not infected, & plant it. Mint propagates by root cutting. You need to make sure it does not infect your other plants, & isolate it.