Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
aphids all over cilantro and dill- can i still get seeds?

Posted by stickgarden z10 CA/ Sunset 21 (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 30, 07 at 13:06

I had let my cilantro and dill plants bolt, and they were developing lots of seeds- but today I finally realized what that black stuff was all over- aphids! I'm new to gardening, I guess I never saw them before. I pulled out the cilantro plant but then saw the ladybugs all over the dill, and left it alone. My question is- I would like to reseed a large area of the garden with the seeds from these herbs, but if they're covered with aphids and the black stuff, are the seeds ruined? I just hate to buy seeds when I already made some for free! I'm pretty sure I can't use it for coriander, that seems really gross.
What do I do next?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: aphids all over cilantro and dill- can i still get seeds?

How about washing the bugs off, then dry the seeds?! I just froze out some tiny bugs off my rose petals by putting the petals in a plastic bag and stuck it in the freezer. (Killed the bugs, but, still had to wash the petals, which wilted in the water. Doh! LOL)

o

Don't wash off the ladybugs! They're attacking the aphids for you! Collect them up and take them somewhere else in the garden. THEN wash off the aphids.

Put a little bag over the flowerhead (the toe end of pantyhose, maybe) and attach it securely but not too tight, then give the stem a shaking. If the seeds are ripe, they'll fall into the bag, making for easy collection. Make sure the bag is made of a material which allows IN the sunlight, and OUT the water.

o