Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stickgarden

aphids all over cilantro and dill- can i still get seeds?

stickgarden
16 years ago

I had let my cilantro and dill plants bolt, and they were developing lots of seeds- but today I finally realized what that black stuff was all over- aphids! I'm new to gardening, I guess I never saw them before. I pulled out the cilantro plant but then saw the ladybugs all over the dill, and left it alone. My question is- I would like to reseed a large area of the garden with the seeds from these herbs, but if they're covered with aphids and the black stuff, are the seeds ruined? I just hate to buy seeds when I already made some for free! I'm pretty sure I can't use it for coriander, that seems really gross.

What do I do next?

Comments (7)

• valentinetbear
    16 years ago

How about washing the bugs off, then dry the seeds?! I just froze out some tiny bugs off my rose petals by putting the petals in a plastic bag and stuck it in the freezer. (Killed the bugs, but, still had to wash the petals, which wilted in the water. Doh! LOL)

• Daisyduckworth
    16 years ago

Don't wash off the ladybugs! They're attacking the aphids for you! Collect them up and take them somewhere else in the garden. THEN wash off the aphids.

Put a little bag over the flowerhead (the toe end of pantyhose, maybe) and attach it securely but not too tight, then give the stem a shaking. If the seeds are ripe, they'll fall into the bag, making for easy collection. Make sure the bag is made of a material which allows IN the sunlight, and OUT the water.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago