Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
valeriehaz

What I am learning...

valeriehaz
12 years ago

I am learning so much from all the reading on here! It sounds like for herbs you have to do a sowing about midseason to get fresh herbs all summer. I have now sowed my corriander seeds for more cilantro and my dill seeds. For other herbs such as basil, rosemary and parsley, will these last all summer? Also, what is the best way to have fresh herbs survive indoors in the winter (I live in 5b OH) so you have them all year round, is this even possible? I do have grow lights, I do not know how to use them yet. As posted before I am still very new to this hobby :). Thank you

Comments (6)

• pagirlmint
    12 years ago

I'm in PA, 6a.
    I've learned that unless you have ALOT of space & time to bother with them, keeping herbs from dying back (even indoors) is not worth it. The basil is most likely not going to survive no matter what you do, the parsley might survive but probably will got dormant & the rosemary needs to be kept warm (think 80's+F) to keep from going dormant.
    I didn't keep my parsley last year, but I did cover my rosemary & put a light in when it got really cold, it's still alive (although the picky thing doesn't love my yard..).

• flora_uk
    12 years ago

pagirlmint - rosemary is a woody, evergreen shrub. It does not 'go dormant' in the winter but neither should it be growing vigorously. It should be sitting quietly waiting for the spring and taking a rest. But you can still harvest all year round. 80f is not necessary or even desirable as it is likely to lead to sappy, etiolated growth which will be disease prone. It should be grown as 'hard' as it will take. Rosemary will take temps a little below freezing for short periods and does so regularly in my garden where it is about 19 years old now.