Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bilabialboxing

Indoor spearmint turning brown

bilabialboxing
9 years ago

Hello! This is my first time ever growing plants. Like, ever. I bought some spearmint from the gardening store, repotted it in a slightly bigger pot, and now it sits in my sunny window. It's going mostly well, but I've noticed that some leaves are getting a bit brown and dying-y (see attached photo). Seeing as this is my first time trying my hand at this...I literally have no idea what's going on or what I might be doing wrong. Maybe it's totally normal!

Any thoughts?

Comments (5)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

Not sure what's wrong but I have to ask, why are you growing it indoors? It's a hardy plant that would much rather be outside.

Rodney

• juliamay
    9 years ago

Funny, I have some that is doing that too. I would just make some mojitos with the rest, cut it back and plant it in a pot outside, if that is an option.

• bilabialboxing
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Unfortunately I live in an apartment and don't really have the option of growing plants outside. Thus, indoor windowsill plants.

Julia, can I infer from your comment that cutting away the leaves that are like this is a good thing to do, rather than leave them on?

• buckstarchaser
    9 years ago

The leaves are still green and functional, except for the brown parts. If the browning is too much for your eyes to bear, then lop them off; otherwise leave them.

Mint is the herpes of the plant kingdom and it will not be harmed if you remove the browning leaves and harvest the rest. It will come back again and again.