Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
btbarbara

Dumb newbie here

btbarbara
12 years ago

I planted my first fruit/veggie container garden this summer and I'm thrilled with the results but I'm dying to try my hand at growing my own herbs. I'm not a great cook (experimenting and learning) so nothing too extravagant...just the basics to get my feet wet. Anyway, I'm completely overwhelmed at all the information out there and wondered if anyone could recommend a good "101" resource (besides this site, of course!) to help me get started. I'm in middle GA so we still have a good 3 months before the first frost but I'm having a hard time figuring out what I could still do this year or what I should plan to get an early start on next year. Basically, just overwhelmed and looking for "container herb gardening for dummies". Thank you!

Comments (2)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago

Hey, neighbor. You sound like one of the smarter newbies to me. Welcome to gardening & these forums! If you don't mind my asking, why are you limited to containers? The way I approach herbs is to decide which ones I like and want, then find out how/when to grow them.

Basil is about the easiest-to-grow herb I've tried. If you like it, see if you can find a plant or 2 already growing for this year. I started seeds outside in Feb. and they were ready to plant in April.

Rosemary is another easy one that is a perennial, and an evergreen. I don't have any experience keeping one outside in a pot, just in the ground, so hopefully someone else will tell you about that. You can bring the pot inside, but I don't think that's necessary with rosemary in zone 8.