Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heypearly

Transplanting Lavender?

HeyPearly
18 years ago

I'm a newbie to herbs, just started last year. Well, my lavender edge in front of a low stone wall seems happy, but too tall! I need to move them to the other side of the wall. They'll still get full sun, excellent drainage and fairly lean soil. The question is: Can I move them? When? How? I don't want to lose them. I have about 20-25 Munsteads, would a late summer move be best? If I can't move them at all, can I take cuttings to root now and put them out in the garden in early Sept?? They are blooming like crazy and need a trim...any thoughts about that? I hope these questions aren't too stupid, but I want to do the right thing. Thanks!!

Comments (7)

• Vera_EWASH
    18 years ago

I had to move some L. munstead too this year and I did that in March before new growth began. I would either move yours in mid fall with plenty of time before first hard frost when the weather is not so hot or next early spring.

Vera

• HeyPearly
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks Vera. I was worried about the timing of the move and if they had deep roots that would not survive the move. I also need to know if I can prune them back hard. Because of the wall they're near one side of each plant is
    sort of flat and bald on the wall side. All sides will be exposed in their new location. What to do...What to do?

• shortarse_hedgewitch
    18 years ago

take some cuttings. even if your moving them take cuttings, its always good to take cuttings.

but seriously, if you plan to move them take some cuttings, and remember to reomve any flowers or flower buds on the cuttinng as flowers reduce the production of foliageroots etc.

that way if you move them and some die you have some small plants from the cuttings to take their places.

as lavender is mint family but with woody stems it will take to cuttings well as far as i know