Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tatsit

My catnip dying

tatsit
13 years ago

Hi

I'm new to planting and recently I've tried planting catnip for my cat. A few of the seeds managed to sprout, but this particular catnip started to die off. I'm scared that the other pots will follow suit.

Here is the photo

For the soil, i've mixed 50-50 burnt soil and compost. I've added organic fertilizers (the grey granules) and coffee grounds on top of the soil.

I've a few more question, after I've added the coffee grounds, mold started growing, is it harmful to the plant? Also, I notice some of the pots has got insects in it, it looks like some small black fly crawling in the soil. I suspect it came from the compost matter as it is crawling with it when I opened the bag. Is it harmful too?

Thanks

Comments (12)

• fatamorgana2121
    13 years ago

Can you plant it outside, in the real ground? Or at least move the container outdoors? Mother Nature gives these plants so much more of the "right stuff" than we can do indoors. If you decide to move it outdoors, move your plant to a sheltered location outdoors to let it get used to the sun, wind, rain, and more before planting it in the ground or moving it to a more exposed location.

FataMorgana

• noinwi
    13 years ago

Your soil looks too moist and the plant looks like it is suffering from damping-off. Also, I wouldn't fertilize unless, when the plants are more mature, they appear to need something, like maybe a shot of nitrogen if they're looking pale or yellowish. Many herbs prefer a lean, or poor soil, so you may be killing your catnip with kindness.

• tatsit
    Original Author
    13 years ago

fatamorgana - I place my plant at the window, which i open during day. I cant place it outdoors as my cats will destroy it.

noinwi - is there any ways i can save it now? Should i give more coffee grounds since it provides nitrogen?

• trythrice
    13 years ago