Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynn_nevins

italian parsley question

Lynn Nevins
11 years ago

This is my first time growing Italian parsley. There are some very tall shoots with clusters of 'flowers'...is that what is referred to as 'bolting'? And do I understand correctly that when this happens, it takes energy away from creating the actual parsley leaves? If I want more leaves produced should I cut back any of these tall stems with flowers?

Tx!

Comments (11)

• eahamel
    11 years ago

Yes, this is "bolting", when a plant begins to flower and go to seed. Cut the flower spikes off. It will continue to try to bolt, though, because that's what parsley does when it gets hot.

• Lynn Nevins
    Original Author
    11 years ago

ok will do. Tx!

• fatamorgana2121
    11 years ago

You may cheat it with cutting off flower clusters for a while, but it will eventually give up even that and die. Flowering signals the end of it growing and entering the last phase of its life. Parsley is a biennial - flowers and dies in the second growing season, though sometimes it happens in the first year if conditions cause it.

The quality is so-so in my opinion once it starts flowering. I personally would let it flower and self-seed. You will have new baby parsley in that location. May sprout this year, maybe next spring. Maybe both.

FataMorgana

• Lynn Nevins
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks. I'm not sure what biennial means exactly but...I guess so long as I allow some of the flowers to remain and die on their own and drop seeds...that each year I should theoretically continue to have new parsley come up?

• fatamorgana2121
    11 years ago

Biennial - lives 2 growing seasons. Flowers and dies in the second growing season. Parsley does an ok job at self-seeding. There should be at least a few young plants if you let the plant flower and drop seeds as it will.

FataMorgana

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    11 years ago