Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vp_78

Basil question... Basil flowered -- now what?

vp_78
10 years ago

In a nutshell... I unfortunately allowed my basil to flower, and I'm wondering if I can just cut my basil back all the way, or if I need to remove the plant and start over?

The full story....

This is my very first year with a proper raised bed garden, and I've really been enjoying snipping off basil here and there to through into my salads. A couple days ago, I noticed that the basil looked like it was ready to bud soon, so I ran out and bought some parmesan cheese to make delicious homemade pesto.

To my dismay, when I started cutting back my basil, I found several actual flowers. I tasted the leaves and it's really bitter -- I waited too long :(

So my question is -- Can I just snip the basil down to the base and wait for it to regrow, or do I need to rip the entire plant out of the bed and start anew?

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• CaraRose
    10 years ago

I've never noticed a flavor change in basil. The main reason you cut back the flowers is because it's an annual and will die back if you let it go to seed. I actually let the thai basil flower since the flowers are pretty, but then cut the heads back before it goes to seed.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Don't worry about budding basils. Some varieties do that very early, all the time. What I woul do is to pinch off the new growth of dud or any cluster of buds/flowers. You can use them in cooking. DO NOT THROW THEM AWAY.

The thing is that a lot of people plant basil and never harvest it and suddenly it goes to flower and the gardener is crying : WHAT SHOULD I DO . my basil is bolting !?!? ..?lol
    If you use basil regularly, it will rarely have a chance to go to flower/seeds, unless you want that to happen.