Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mediocre_gatsby

New at this! Asking for tips about miint, basil, and thyme

Mediocre_Gatsby
10 years ago

Hello everyone! Newbie here! :) Well, I transplanted all the herbs I've mentioned above about 4 days ago. My Thai basil looks all droopy now, but doesn't have any brown leaves yet. My mint looks ok, but I'm wondering what I can do to make the leaves bigger. My thyme's starting to turn droopy too, but I dunno why. I live in the tropics, with a weather similar to Singapore. I water my thyme after every 2 days, and the others everyday. Thyme gets lots of sun, while basil and mint are partial sun. My soil's a mix of 1:1 fertilizer and compost. And if anyone knows, what's the variety of my thyme? It's only labled as thyme. Thanks!

This post was edited by Mediocre_Gatsby on Sat, Aug 31, 13 at 8:26

Comments (6)

• balloonflower
    10 years ago

Welcome! First off, the pot sizes are on the small size, especially for the mint which will quickly take over that size of pot. But, I wouldn't repot until they've gotten over transplant shock.

The basil looks to me like it's just short on water. The pots may be wicking more water out of the dirt than you realize, meaning the plant isn't getting enough. Mint leaves will get larger as the plant matures and is happy. I would keep them in shade until they adjust, then introduce them to sun slowly.

I didn't really understand what type of soil you used. You said you mixed straight fertilizer and compost? Herbs don't need that much fertilizer, and thyme needs a very well draining soil.

Your thyme looks like a standard culinary type. Don't water it until the soil is completely dry.

• Mediocre_Gatsby
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks a lot! Yes, I mixed dry organic fertilizer and compost. I'm really new to this, so I just thought "The richer the soil, the better, right?" and went ahead of myself. So I'm guessing not every plant likes it rich. Whoops.